Miriam Nash on Somerset Maugham shortlist

Miriam Nash on Somerset Maugham shortlist

Miriam Nash's debut collection, All the Prayers in the House, has been selected for the 2018 Somerset Maugham Awards shortlist. Five titles have been chosen from works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry by writers under 35. This year's judges, Jen Campbell, Barney Norris and Ian Thomson described Miriam's poems as providing an "hypnotic sense of place". 

First awarded in 1947, the Somerset Maugham Awards are amongst a number of literary prizes run by the Society of Authors and enable recipients to enrich their work by gaining experience of foreign countries. The Authors’ Awards, presented by Stephen Fry, will take place at RIBA on the evening of Thursday 19 July 2018.  This is the first year that titles have been shortlisted for the award - previously winners have just been announced.

Judge Jen Campbell talks about the five titles shortlisted for a Somerset Maugham Award here.  She discusses Mriam Nash's book and reads a poem from it at 7.00 on the video.

Full details on the prize shortlist and judges can be found here.

Miriam Nash's debut has also been shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Centre Prize for First Full Collection, along with fellow Bloodaxe poet Wayne Holloway-Smith's Alarum. Details here.


[19 June 2018]

Back to News And Publicity




View Larger Text