Askew & Perry shortlisted for Michael Murphy Prize

Askew & Perry shortlisted for Michael Murphy Prize

Two recent Bloodaxe first collections have been shortlisted for the Michael Murphy Memorial Prize 2017; Rebecca Perry’s Beauty/Beauty, published in 2015, and Claire Askew’s This changes things, which came out in 2016.

Now worth £1000, the prize is for or “a distinctive first book of poetry published in Britain or Ireland”, and covers debut collections published in the previous two calendar years, 2015-16. It was established by colleagues at Nottingham Trent University in honour of the Liverpool-born poet Michael Murphy, who was 43 when he died of a brain tumour in May 2009. The winner will be announced on National Poetry Day, 28 September 2017, and the prize will be awarded at the English Association’s AGM in May 2018.

The other first collections on the shortlist are Disko Bay by Nancy Campbell from Enitharmon, and John Dennison’s Otherwise and Kate Miller’s The Observances, both from Carcanet. So clearly the independents are leading the field here. The previous winners of the prize were all published by indies: Ciaran Berry, 2011 (Gallery Press), Oli Hazzard, 2013 (Carcanet) and Hannah Lowe, 2015 (Bloodaxe). This year’s judges are Deryn Rees-Jones, Karen Leeder and John McAuliffe.

Rebecca Perry’s Beauty/Beauty, a Poetry Book Society Recommendation, has already been shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize, the Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize and the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry Prize for First Full Collection 2016. Claire Askew’s This changes things was shortlisted for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award for a second time in 2016 and was then shortlisted for the Saltire Society First Book of the Year Award 2016 and for the Seamus Heaney Centre Prize for First Full Collection 2017.

For more details of the Michael Murphy Memorial Prize, click here.

[07 August 2017]

Back to News And Publicity




View Larger Text