Helen Dunmore

Counting Backwards

Poems 1975-2017

Helen Dunmore

Publication Date : 21 Feb 2019

ISBN: 9781780374451

Pages: 65
Size :216 x 138mm
Rights: World

Winner of the Costa Book of the Year for her final collection, Inside the Wave, Helen Dunmore was as spellbinding storyteller in her poetry and in her prose. Her haunting narratives draw us into darkness, engaging our fears and hopes in poetry of rare luminosity, nowhere more so than in Inside the Wave, in its exploration of the borderline between the living and the dead – the underworld and the human living world - and the exquisitely intense being of both. All her poetry casts a bright, revealing light on the living world, by land and sea, on love, longing and loss.

Counting Backwards is a retrospective covering ten collections written over four decades, bringing together all the poems she included in her earlier selection, Out of the Blue (2001), with all those from her three later collections, Glad of These Times (2007), The Malarkey (2012) and Inside the Wave (2017), along with a number of earlier or previously uncollected poems.

‘Dunmore is a particularly lucid writer, and not simply because her poems are so often filled with the play of light. Her language is bare and clean; her forms balladic and unobtrusive… Dunmore seeks to draw attention, not to her mastery of craft, but to her subject and the intricate, original, patterns of her thought…These poems are light-boned, but strong: elegant, complex, fully-turned unions of image, thought and sound. In these times, we should be glad of this voice’ – Kate Clanchy, Guardian.

'One of this country’s finest literary talents' - Daily Telegraph.

'Dunmore gets a wonderful balance between delicate, exact, surprising language and very strong thought – which may be bitter, sardonic, or violent, tender, or wildly imaginative, but is always generous …A lovely poetic electricity runs through her poems' – Sean O'Brien & Ruth Padel, PBS Bulletin.

Comments on Inside the Wave:

'We all felt this is a modern classic; a fantastic collection, life-affirming and uplifting.  The poems carry powerful messages that speak to all of us.' - Wendy Holden, Chair of Judges, Costa Book of the Year 2017

'An astonishing set of poems - a final, great achievement.' - Costa Poetry Award Judges Moniza Alvi, Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Nick Wroe on Inside the Wave, winner of the Costa Poetry Award

'Inside the Wave shows us not only what it is to be alive, but what it is like to be alive and to be mortal.  It is a very special book indeed.' - Moniza Alvi, Costa Poetry Award Judge, The Guardian(The Week in Books)

'This is a prize that celebrates "great writing, a good read and broad appeal".  There is no better definition of Inside the Wave: a book that is a fitting culmination, and lasting memorial, to a remarkable life and career.' - Nick Wroe, Costa Poetry Award Judge, The Guardian

‘2017 saw the loss of many loved poets.  Inside the Wave by the late Helen Dunmore ensures her beautiful light will continue to reach earth.’ – Carol Rumens, The Observer (Poetry Books of the Year)

‘Helen Dunmore’s final collection of poems, Inside the Wave, is heartbreaking: she was a poet always in her heart, and she left us far too soon when she died in June.’ – Erica Wagner, New Statesman (Books of the Year)

'She was – first and last – a poet. Her first collection, The Apple Fall, was published when she was 30, her last, Inside the Wave, in April this year...  Her last collection is her most spare and moving. Inside the Wave is smooth as a sea pebble and liminal – poised between life and death.' - Kate Kellaway, in her tribute to Helen Dunmore in The Guardian

‘The wave in this humane and visionary collection symbolises the flow of time and tide around and over individual lives… Lying down and watching the world at eye level constitutes much of what poets and novelists do and Dunmore’s work in both genres is always alive with sensuous detail.’ – Carol Rumens, Poetry Book of the Month, The Observer

‘Henry James, in The Art of Fiction, urged the apprentice novelist to “try to be one of those people on whom nothing is lost”. In a career of great distinction, Dunmore has not only acted on the advice – as both novelist and poet – but has offered the reader a chance to share her remarkable alertness, imaginative range and generosity of spirit.’ – Sean O’Brien, The Guardian [on Inside the Wave]


Helen Dunmore reads six poems

Filmed at her home in Bristol in June 2007, Helen Dunmore reads six poems: Wild strawberries’, ‘When You’ve Got’, ‘Candle poem’, ‘City lilacs’, 'Glad of these times' and ‘Dolphins whistling’. This film is from the DVD-book In Person: 30 Poets, filmed by Pamela Robertson-Pearce, edited by Neil Astley.


Helen Dunmore reads from The Malarkey

Helen Dunmore (1952-2017) read from her penultimate collection, The Malarkey (Bloodaxe Books, 2012) at Ledbury Poetry Festival on 8 July 2012. Here, in the last part of her reading, she reads five poems from the book: ‘Pianist, 103’, ‘What Will You Say’, ‘Come Out Now’, ‘I Heard You Sing in the Dark’ and ‘The Malarkey’. She also talks about how important it was for her to win the National Poetry Competition with the book’s title-poem in 2010. Her event was filmed for the festival by Alan Sennett, but only this footage survives



BOOKS BY Helen Dunmore

Inside the Wave

Helen Dunmore

Inside the Wave

Publication Date : 27 Apr 2017
The Malarkey

Helen Dunmore

The Malarkey

Publication Date : 28 Jun 2012

Related News & Publicity

News & Publicity

Helen Dunmore's Inside the Wave named Costa Book of the Year

Helen Dunmore's Inside the Wave named Costa Book of the Year

The late Helen Dunmore's final collection Inside the Wave wins Costa Book of the Year 2017; Press, TV & Radio interviews with Helen's son and daughter.

Read More  |  View All

News & Publicity

Helen Dunmore (1952-2017)

Helen Dunmore (1952-2017)

Press and Radio tributes to Helen Dunmore

Read More  |  View All




View Larger Text